This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but is accessible to any browser or Internet device.


header graphic

About The Historical Society of Michigan

Established in 1828, The Historical Society of Michigan is a member supported non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization. It receives no support for operations from any level of government.

Our mission statement is here.

Our 2001-02 Annual Report in PDF format is here (in sections for quicker downloading):

(The front cover, with photos.) (Pages 1-6) (Pages 7-12)

HSM Staff:

Executive Director: Larry J. Wagenaar [email protected]

Secretary: Pam Rogers [email protected]

HSM Board of Trustees:

Kenneth R. Pott - St. Joseph
Vice President:
Sean O'Neill - Allendale
Bernhardt L. Pederson - Bay City
Jay Platt - Ann Arbor
Immediate Past President:
Thomas M. George - Kalamazoo
Mark Alexander - Lansing Rochelle Balkam - Ann Arbor
George Borel - Ann Arbor James Cameron - Saline
Judy Cantor - Bloomfield Lisa Canada - Detroit
Sharon Carlson - Kalamazoo Mary Cauley - Bloomfield Hills
Paul W. Darling - Ann Arbor De Witt S. Dykes, Jr. - Rochester
Larry Griffin - Lansing Richard H. Harms - Grand Rapids
Thom Hawley - Ludington James A. McConnell - Livonia
Mike McCoy - Grand Ledge Janet Mendler - Pinckney
Mel Miller - Clinton Twp. Robert M. Money - Sault Ste. Marie
Bob Myers - Berrien Springs Sean O'Neill - Allendale
John L. Revitte - East Lansing Edward Surovell - Ann Arbor
Paul Trap - Holland Thomas Vranich - Elk Rapids

Michigan History Day State Co-coordinators:

Hugh Gurney [email protected]

Tami Averill [email protected]